Pizza- Attempt 1!

27 Jul

It’s been a while, but I’m returning to the keyboard to hopefully update you on some dishes I made in the past, and hopefully soon I’ll be back on my one new dish a week schedule!

I’ve attempted pizza twice so far, and am quite a ways from perfecting it, but here’s the chronicle of my first try:

Using inspiration from yet another Tablespoon post, found here, I decided to try some easy and somewhat homemade pizza. For this attempt, I went with a half pepperoni, half mushroom pizza and a more classic pizza with tomato sauce, chunks of mozzarella, and basil leaves. For this cooking endeavor, I did capture some pictures:

These are the pizzas before cooking– not a super detailed picture, but so far, so good. I found that working with the Pillsbury dough, especially right after taking it from the refrigerator, was a lot more difficult than I had expected it to be. It was hard to spread out without creating holes and I had to work with it a while before I got it in a somewhat pizza-shape. I used a pizza pan (newly purchased for this experiment) for one pizza, and a cookie sheet for the other.

Here’s the pepperoni and mushroom pizza after cooking. It turned out quite delicious, I thought. Mom requested lots of mushrooms, and I learned from cooking this pizza that you can always fit more toppings–it seemed like I had filled every possible space, but I think I could have definitely added even more mushrooms in retrospect.

This is the mozzarella pizza, which, though it looks good, did not turn out as delicious as expected. I put way more sauce than necessary on it and when it was eaten sauce was literally dripping off each slice. I also should have cooked it longer– the mozzarella hadn’t quite melted as much as I would have hoped.

Overall, the pizzas didn’t turn out too terribly for a first try– though I definitely have a long way to go!

Parents’ Rating:

4 out of 5 napkins

My Rating:

3 out of 5 napkins

Leave a Reply

