Pan Roasted Burgundy Chicken

3 Jul

One of my favorite flavors is that of red wine and mushrooms, whether cooked with steak or chicken, I think it generally makes a delicious and flavorful dish. One of my new favorite recipe sites is Tablespoon (props to my friend Caitlyn for leading me to it). So when I found this recipe for Pan Roasted Burgundy Chicken, which included both red wine and mushrooms, I figured I’d try it out.

I generally do not excel in the area of cooking things in a skillet, so that added an extra challenge to cooking this dish. In fact, this may have been the first time I cooked meat in a skillet…(there’s a reason this blog is called Remedial Cooking) but overall the experience was not as terrible as it could have been! My timing was a little off as I tried to season each piece and add it to the skillet– I probably should have seasoned them all, then added them all to the skillet.

I also would have liked a larger skillet, though in the end I was just able to fit in all the chicken breast–definitely use a large skillet if you’re making this at home. Furthermore, I would have added a little more cornstarch at the end, because the sauce didn’t seem to thicken that ton though.

Overall, however, it ended up tasting pretty good. It didn’t look quite as beautiful as the pictures (my apologies for not taking my own pictures) and the red wine and mushroom flavor didn’t permeate the chicken quite as much as I had hoped, but it still blended nicely and made a great meal when served over rice. The parents seemed to enjoy it as well, my mom thought it was particularly delicious.

Parents’ rating:

5 out of 5 napkins

My rating:

3 out of 5 napkins

Leave a Reply

